Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County is both the most populated and densely populated county in North Carolina.   On September 12, 2013, the county welcomed its one millionth  resident.

The county seat and largest city is Charlotte. 

Mecklenburg County was formed in 1762 from the western part of Anson County. It was named in commemoration of the marriage of King George III to Charlotte of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.   Due to unsure boundaries, a large part of south and western Mecklenburg County extended into areas that would later form part of the state of  South Carolina.  In 1768, most of this area (the part of Mecklenburg County west of the Catawba River) was designated Tryon County, North Carolina. Determining the final boundaries of these "western" areas between North and South Carolina would become a decades- long process. In 1792 the northeastern part of Mecklenburg County became Cabarrus County. Finally, in 1842 the southeastern part of Mecklenburg County was combined with the western part of Anson County to become Union County.

The Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was allegedly signed on May 20, 1775;  if the document is indeed genuine, Mecklenburg County was the first part of the Thirteen Colonies to declare independence from Great Britain.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 546 square miles of which 526 square miles is land and 20 square miles (3.65%) is water.

The county's primary commercial aviation airport is Charlotte Douglas International Airport in Charlotte.

Light rail service in Mecklenburg County runs from Uptown to Pineville.  Currently a 9.6-mile  line, build-out is expected to be complete by 2034.

Charlotte Area Transit System (CATS) bus service serves all of Mecklenburg County, including Charlotte, and the municipalities of Davidson, Huntersville, Cornelius, Matthews, Pineville, and Mint Hill.

Mecklenburg's manufacturing base, its central location on the Eastern Seaboard and the intersection of two major interstates in the county have made it a hub for the trucking industry.

The major industries of Mecklenburg County are banking, manufacturing and professional services, especially those supporting banking and medicine. Mecklenburg County is home to six Fortune 500 companies, including 21st-ranked Bank of America.

Population grew 2.5% per year from 1970 to 2008.

Mecklenburg County contains seven municipalities including the City of Charlotte and the towns of Cornelius, Davidson, and Huntersville (north of Charlotte); and the towns of Matthews, Mint Hill, and Pineville (south and southeast of Charlotte). A small portion of the town of Stallings is also in Mecklenburg County, though most of it is in Union County. Extraterritorial jurisdictions within the county are annexed by municipalities as soon as they reach sufficient concentrations.

Share This Page

Contact Information

Photo of Laura Bowman-Messick Real Estate
Laura Bowman-Messick
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Carolinas Realty
7930 West Kenton Circle, Suite 300
Huntersville NC 28078
Mobile: (704) 200-4015
Fax: 704-802-5775