Lincoln County

Lincoln County

Lincoln County,  North Carolina  has an estimated population of 79,740.  The county seat  is located in Lincolnton.  The county was formed in 1779 from the eastern part of Tryon County and was named for Benjamin Lincoln, a general in the American Revolutionary War.

In 1782,  the southeastern part of Burke County was annexed to Lincoln County.  In 1841,  parts of Lincoln County and Rutherford County were combined to form Cleveland County.   In 1842, the northern third of Lincoln County became Catawba County and  in 1846, the southern half of what was left of Lincoln County became Gaston County.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Lincoln County has a total area of  307 square miles, of which, 299 square miles of it is land and  8 square miles  of  it (2.68%) is water.  The population density  is 213.5 people per square mile.







Share This Page

Contact Information

Photo of Laura Bowman-Messick Real Estate
Laura Bowman-Messick
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices Carolinas Realty
7930 West Kenton Circle, Suite 300
Huntersville NC 28078
Mobile: (704) 200-4015
Fax: 704-802-5775